A long due update

Leave a comment

August 20, 2013 by Nikos

Things had been slow till recently. I was on vacation from the army ,the first part of which was spent on moving houses. Very tiring and uncomfortable to move houses ,not to mention boring. Now I’m living in the countryside at my grandma’s house with a mediocre internet line but great scenery and fresh air.

At this last part of my vacation my passion for continuing the project has flared up. And while it was partly the air and the scenery, mostly it was due to the discovery of this wonderful tool called Scrivener.

Let’s just say that it has done wonders for me in terms of organization and project management. At the moment i’m following roughly this “guide“, trying to create a design document for this game. I’m also transferring all my notes to the Scrivener project to have them all in one place.There’s another reason why following Antony Johnston’s process is good. Scrivener allows to transform a word in one file into a link to a file inside the project. So it’s easy to create links to notes in the projects files. I.e. there might be several ways to handle a situation in the story and I’ve thought of them on different days(which means they’re on different files), I can connect those notes to the specific points in the text of the chapter I’m working on. Kinda like post-its.

To top things off, I’ve employed Dropbox to keep my project files and this way I can work on the project either from the desktop or the laptop or any place I can get Scrivener and Dropbox. I know this isn’t exactly a first rate versioning system and certainly not one to make automatic backups but it serves for now.

Leave a Reply

Copyright

© Nikolaos Patsiouras and Adventure Game Adventures, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nikolaos Patsiouras and Adventure Game Adventures with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Anteru's blog

Graphics, programming & software engineering

Mike Taulty

I do some developer stuff for Microsoft UK

Geoff Lester | Technical Artist

Game Development, CGI and Programming

Andrew Fray

On games programming and AI

Fuzzy Reflection

Personal Space for Self-Reflection

ScrawkBlog

Game programming and asset creation

bitsquid: development blog

blog about my projects,thoughts and other stuff

Graphics in Plain Language

blog about my projects,thoughts and other stuff

tavianator.com

blog about my projects,thoughts and other stuff

Andreas on Coding

Thoughts about programming.

Aras' website

blog about my projects,thoughts and other stuff

duangle

blog about my projects,thoughts and other stuff

extremeistan

thoughts about computer graphics, game engine programming

The ryg blog

When I grow up I'll be an inventor.

Coding in the Dark

A technical blog of game development.

Dan Luu

blog about my projects,thoughts and other stuff

Molecular Musings

Development blog of the Molecule Engine

